Acre, Rosh HaNikra, Tiberias and Tsfat - Reisverslag uit Haifa, Israel van Rosalie - WaarBenJij.nu Acre, Rosh HaNikra, Tiberias and Tsfat - Reisverslag uit Haifa, Israel van Rosalie - WaarBenJij.nu

Acre, Rosh HaNikra, Tiberias and Tsfat

Door: Roos

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rosalie

14 Februari 2011 | Israel, Haifa

Oke, have to catch up with you guys...did a lot of stuff!

To start: the day before yesterday (saturday, the day on which the Jewish may not do 'anything')
We went to the north by car. First to Acre, a nice picturesque town. I loved it! We went to a little market there and after we ate humus (made of chickpea) at a very popular little restaurant. The humus was really nice, I had meat and pine nuts with it. You eat it with pieces tortilla..some kind of salad and fries. We went more up...to the border with Lebanon. There you have the Rosh HaNikra, some kind of mountain with caves in it, made by the water. We drove up the mountain and went down with a cablecar. First they showed us a little national cheographic kind of movie, with some special effects..jajaja. Then we went into the caves. The water in it was wild...superblue..and beautiful!
With a beautifull view in front of us, we waited till the sun was down.
We drove home and they showed me the Baha'i gardens. Some wiki-information for the interested:

--- The Bahá'í Faith is a monotheistic religion founded by Bahá'u'lláh in nineteenth-century Persia, emphasizing the spiritual unity of all humankind. There are an estimated five to six million Bahá'ís around the world in more than 200 countries and territories.
In the Bahá'í Faith, religious history is seen to have unfolded through a series of divine messengers, each of whom established a religion that was suited to the needs of the time and the capacity of the people. These messengers have included Abraham, the Buddha, Jesus, Muhammad and others, and most recently the Báb and Bahá'u'lláh.---

At night..the gardens look amaaazing! You can see the patterns of the garden from far.

The next day (sunday) my friend and I went with another friend to the beach.It took a while to get there. I first wanted to get some breakfast...so we stopped at some kind of bakery....and I chose 6 different little puff-pastry-thingies to taste, 3 sweet, 3 not. They reminded me of Argentina. They were really nice!
We walked along the beach! It was a bit windy, but still not that cold. The views were great again. They wanted to show me the gardens again, but now in daylight (you can walk there), but when we arrived the gardens were closed. We decided to go to the shopping mall, because I wanted to buy a lonely planet of Israel. I could buy a second book with 70% discount...so I bought a book about package designs and their cultural differences. -Yes, I promised I would read a bit about my thesis-research-subject, but actually this book has only pictures-

We were going to take a bus back..but we had to wait for a long time..and suddenly it was raining really bad! The Dutch would define it as a nice summerrain -you know..it was a warm day..the rain 'falls with containers out of the sky';) and you can smell the waterdamp evaporating on the hot asphalt (if my English is weird I blame google translate).- But here in Israel it's called 'Winter'. Jaja. So we -the Dutch- have some good winterdays in summer.
But oke..we finally took a bus back..and we made a little nightwalk in Haifa. After we came home we watched a movie.

That brings us to today!
Me and my friend first went to Tiberias, a city in the north, between some mountains and a lake (Sea of Galilee). The city has some great potentials..but I don't think they use it. Most buildings look neglected, and they made some really touristic-looking marketstalls, which ruins the atmosphere (in my opinion). We made a walk along the lake untill we reached the Tomb of Rabbi Meir Ba'al Ha-nes. The building looked great! I went into the womans-part..where some women were praying. They stand against this wall with their face..what turned out to be the tomb..aha..maybe it's just because I'm not religious..but I just expected something else. I didn't make a picture of it...because I just think it can look disrespectfull to make pictures of praying people...or something like that.
From there we took a bus to Tsfat, just like Tiberias it is a holy city for Jews. The busride to there was really nice...although I woke up of my muscles doing some spastic moves...
We arrived in Tsfat at dark. On one side that's a pity..because everything was closed already..but on the other side..it's great...it's soooo beautifull with all the lights! I hope the pictures turn out well.
There is this old part of the city...with little alleys and lanterns everywhere. We walked around there.

After about 1,5 hour we took a bus back to Haifa...that brings me to the end of today.
I will try to upload some pictures on my facebook now.

See you next time!

  • 14 Februari 2011 - 23:02

    Mamsie:

    what a wonderful way to live.... and to learn all about other country's and people. Wauw... I wished I could be there with you Roos.
    xxx

  • 15 Februari 2011 - 01:53

    Jeroen:

    Hey knoedie! Wat cool :-D leuk weer.. Oh ja, en tsfat ziet er echt gaaf uit! middeleeuws bijna, echt mijn ding haha! Leuke foto's ook die andere.. Oh ja en ik heb ook weer een nieuwe religie geleerd.. denk dat ik me maar niet bekeer trouwens ^_^ keep it up! we volgen je.

    Liefs

  • 15 Februari 2011 - 06:20

    Adi:

    It's Pita bread - not Tortillas...we look a bit like an upgraded version of Mexico but when it comes to our bread we are very particular!

  • 15 Februari 2011 - 08:59

    Ellen:

    Tjee Rosie wat leuk zo op stap in het land met de inwoners ervan. Je ziet het dan toch door een andere bril.
    Veel plezier nog en stuur wat zon naar Holland :)
    xxx

  • 15 Februari 2011 - 09:00

    Roos:

    @Adi jajaja...That was the first thing Ariel said..PITA ;)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Israel, Haifa

Rosalie

Actief sinds 13 Juli 2008
Verslag gelezen: 330
Totaal aantal bezoekers 46772

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Oktober 2012 - 26 Oktober 2013

The journey without a plan

11 Februari 2011 - 25 Februari 2011

Israel ontdekken

30 Maart 2010 - 31 Juli 2010

Dansen in Zuid-Amerika

05 September 2008 - 22 Oktober 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: